Phone 410 374 3000
Fax 410 374 8803
Toll-Free 877 878 0100
Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

Please submit a review of your mortgage experience- it's fast and easy!

We appreciate the opportunity to have served you and know others will benefit from hearing about your mortgage experience. We take pride in our company reputation and customer service record. Tell us how we did!

E-mail Address

Robin S. - 11/20/2015 10:15AM

Really good customer service. When I left messages I got a call back that day or the next business day. The process took a bit longer than anticipated, but I was kept informed through out and I am very satisfied with the experience.
Thank you

Eunice B. - 11/19/2015 1:01PM

The smoothest mortgage I have ever applied for. The representatives from Meridian were all very helpful and kept me informed. Best of all, they did not request the same documentation more than once.

Harry A. - 11/18/2015 10:20PM

My first contact with Meridian was with Nick Ottman, sorry if I got the last name spelled incorrectly, however Nick was very professional and took his time explaining all my options.

He was clear with answering my questions and handled my refinancing rather quickly.
Communication was very good with the entire staff and they set me up with a good deal that allowed me to consolidate my debt into one easy payment.

Thank you Meridian Home Mortgage team. I would highly recommend your services to anyone interested in refinancing or first mortgage. Good Job team.

Thanks Harry

Rose C. - 11/14/2015 5:20PM

We rate 8/10 for our overall experience with Meridian Home Mortgage. We were relieved that our loan closed last month. We finally got some financial breathing room with our mortgage, credit card debts, and other expenses. Consolidating all our debts gives us options and a second chance in some financial freedom. We are grateful for the staff of Meridian Home Mortgage in helping us in this process.

The reason for the 8/10 rate is the time and initiative to get us updated on our loan. We were contemplating of ending the process due to the time that it took for it to close. When we first started the process, we were told that it will only take a few weeks. One of the representatives told us two weeks in fact. The papers that we signed said Aug. 15, 2015 is the closing date. We closed two months after that. The process took four months. We were anxious and nervo us throughout the whole process since this is the first time that we dealt with a refinance outside the state. We were also usually the ones who initiates inquiries about our loan. Sometimes, we won't get a reply until a week later asking for some more documents for us to fax. We believe we replied to them promptly but was not reciprocated similarly. Finally, they told us that our process takes longer than usual because VA loans require more documents and they were backed up. We understood the delay but could have been more comforted if they have told us prior instead of promising us the wrong time frame.

Despite the time factor, we are happy that we started this process and ended with blessings. We would not have this option if Tony have not contacted us and introduced us to Meridian Home Mortgage. We would recommend Meridian Home Mortgage but advice them of the time delays and to be patient.

Eugene M. - 11/13/2015 2:25PM

Although the re-fi process went on longer than expected (5 months), it went well. I kept in touch with various members of the Meridian team throughout the process and they kept me in the loop. There were some holdups but the Meridian team worked them out. They were professional and did a good job.

Gary D. - 11/16/2015 4:37PM

This refinance went very well much better then the last time. They even worked through me having an unexpected change of jobs during the refinance. Thanks.

Kathryn C. - 11/13/2015 5:59PM

William Burgamy worked with me every step of my mortgage refinance. He provided exceptional customer service. He kept me abreast throughout the process. He answered any and all questions and replied to my correspondences in a timely fashion. I will recommend Meridian to anyone seeking a refinance.

Kathy C.

Reva H. - 11/11/2015 10:46AM

Thank you for the opportunity to send this review. I just closed on my refinancing with your company and I must say the process was much more difficult than any refinancing I have ever previously been involved with. On several occasions, I strongly considered just stopping the process with your company due to what I believe was either a lack of professionalism and a lack of competence on behalf of one employee, Tami Wingrove.
After the initial contact, with the initial estimate, my case was sent to Ms. Wingrove. She failed to contact me for over a week (maybe two, I forget) and when I contacted your company, she indicated that she had sent the information to the wrong email address (even though I had been communicating initially with your company via email).

Throughout the process, she failed to understand simple documents and made representations that simply were not true. Then, when I would question if she understood the process and documents, on several occasions she would become disrespectful. She made comments such as I was "talking down to her" and that she thought that I didn't have a right to question her representations. I was told the phone conversations were recorded. I strongly suggest reviewing those recorded conversations. I repeatedly requested to speak to her supervisor (both over the phone and by email), which she never accommodated, nor gave any contact information for me to directly do so.

Had I not already invested so much time, effort on my behalf as well as my firm in producing all of the requested documentation, I would have certainly changed companies to complete the process. If she was my employee, I would have been mortified that she represented my company in any capacity.

Not only did the process take much longer than originally estimated, Ms. Wingrove made the process aggravating and certainly left a sour taste in my mouth. I believe, however, this one employee is the exception and not the rule at your company, and just hope that customers in the future are treated with greater courtesy, competence and respect.

David S. - 11/11/2015 10:56AM

Thank you for the thorough and well communicated process. It was longer than expected, but well worth it. Everyone who contacted us was very professional! I have, and will, recommend Meridian to anyone asking about my re-fi experience.

Michael C. - 11/10/2015 12:10PM

We would like to thank you and your whole team at Meridian for everything. My wife and I really appreciate how quickly and professionally Meridian processed our loan. We hope you will forward this to your supervisors and all involved in the processing of our loan so they can be aware of how professional everyone involved in our loan process was and how much we truly appreciate the work that was done for us.

Joe W. - 11/6/2015 5:14PM

Thank you so much for all you did. The process while long was very smooth and we will recommend Meridian Home Mortgage to other Veteran Families who may be considering a Re-Fi.

Heerd - 11/7/2015 4:10PM

We had a good experience working with Meridian to refinance our mortgage everyone was helpful and answered our questions I would recommend the company.

Steve T. - 11/8/2015 10:19PM

I was very pleased by the commitment and follow-through of the entire Meridian team. My refinance was challenging, but they went the extra mile to secure favorable terms and gave me timely directions and advice every step of the way. I would recommend Meridian Home Mortgage to anyone looking to buy or refinance a home.

Veronica T. - 11/5/2015 4:39PM

The crew members that we worked with to do our refi were exceptionally helpful and answered all my questions. From the very beginning when I received their refi mortgage offer I was hesitant because I lived in Illinois and wasn't sure what Meridian could do for us in another state, but I checked with the BBB and found out that had a great standing as a mortgagee, and was happy I answered their offer to take on our situation. Mr.Burgamy in the Pipeline Dept was especially helpful, returned my phone calls and E-mails, soon after I would have a question about what was happening on the progress of the loan.
I would happily refer Meridian to anyone that would have a problem loan as we did. Thanks to the helpful crew members for their sincerity and good work.

Jorge M. - 11/6/2015 11:00AM

My experience with Meridian Mortgage in doing a refi loan was very positive. The Loan Officer was Tony Tucci who was very good at explaining the refi process and the documents needed. The processor was Diana Pachet who was extremely efficient every step of the way during the loan process. she was always in contact through emails and phone calls. I am very grateful that I went with Meridian Mortgage. I know that loan funding rules have become more stringent in recent years. Ms Pachet seems to have a high level of professionalism and a thorough understanding of the new loan process. I am glad that she was assigned to work on my loan. I feel that she did an outstanding job. Meridian has great customer service which seems rare nowadays. Thank you.

Jerome and Elizabeth B. - 11/5/2015 3:53PM

When we receive unsolicited mail regarding refinancing, credit card consolidations, etc., we always shred the letters. Luckily for us, when we received a letter from Meridian Home Mortgage last spring, we decided to call the company because they were offering refinancing with a VA loan. We had recently read about benefits of such a loan for us. We were also extremely fortunate that Nick Outten was assigned to us as our personal advisor. Nick was very professional, knowledgeable, helpful and took a very personal interest in our needs. We had many questions which Nick always answered within a day of our e-mails to him. We thought he gave us excellent advice. Even after we closed on our new mortgage, he was available to answer our questions. We also would like to thank Dan Sponaugle for being so conscientious about updating us regularly as we went through the process. We t hink we got an excellent deal on our new mortgage. We are only going to pay $5.00 more than our previous monthly mortgage payment. We now have the benefits of a VA loan, which include not having to pay private mortgage insurance any longer. We were able to use equity we had in our home to pay off four credit card balances.

It did take five months from our initial application to the closing, but we feel that was mostly because the VA is known for moving slowly.

If we are in a position to recommend Meridian to anyone, we would be happy to do so!

Jerry and Elizabeth

Laurence L. - 11/4/2015 2:35PM

It took a bit longer than we expected, but the final outcome was accomplished as was promised promised.

George V. - 11/4/2015 2:47PM

My experience was a very pleasant one. The staff at Meridian kept me abreast of every step throughout the process, taking away any of the guess work or anxiety as to what was going on with my loan. The quotes that they gave me remained pretty much the same from start to finish. I would for sure recommend this company to others.
Again my experience with the loan process was a great one!

George V.

Janet G. - 11/4/2015 3:59PM

The only complaint I have is that I was told more then once that it wouldn't take has long as it did. It's not the fact that it took that long but the fact that I was told that. I do not have the name of that person it was not William. William Burgamy was Great. I was upset about a few things that happened and he went out of his way to make them work.

Milton M. - 11/4/2015 5:05PM

My experience with Meridian was quite pleasant. I would highly recommend your company.

Milton M.

George H. - 11/4/2015 10:42PM

Overall the experience was pleasant. The underwriter was a little bit of a pain, but the Meridian reps were awesome.

Donna H. - 11/4/2015 11:13AM

All of the people that I dealt with at Meridian were very helpful, polite, and accessible. However, the process took way too long. We started the process in April and didn't close until the end of October. We submitted paperwork within 24 hours of every request and waited weeks before we heard anything else. Many times I had to call only to find out they wanted additional paperwork, but had not requested it until I called for an update. By the time we closed we needed to send update pay stubs and bank statements all over again because the initial ones were too old.

Luis M. - 11/4/2015 12:16PM

Everyone I worked with, was very helpful and professional. and willing to go the extra mile to help.


Susan C. - 11/4/2015 11:47AM

I thought the staff was extremely supportive and helpful. They were very professional as well. Thanks to everyone who worked on my loan.

Courtney H. - 11/3/2015 1:44PM

The process of closing my loan took five months! I was told for three of those months that "any day now" I would be receiving the clear to close. I was late for my mortgage one month because I was foolish enough to listen to my loan officer when she told me it would be 24-28 hours. I was told it would be 24-48 hours for 10 business days!

Once I did get the clear to close, I closed within 2 business days. I would recommend going with another company if you are looking to close in a reasonable amount of time. I will NOT be using Meridian again.

Linda M. - 11/3/2015 1:37PM

Everyone was very helpful and always answered my questions
without delay. I felt it took a long time to finish the process but
was told it was because of all the identity theft. I felt they were
a little excessive in verifying my employment 4 times.

Other than that everything is fine and I have received all my
payoff checks as of yesterday. Also received verification of
second mortgage pay off. Just waiting to hear from Chase for
1st mortgage payoff.

Looking forward to continuing my relationship with Meridian.

Scott P. - 11/2/2015 8:58PM

The people at Meridian were very nice throughout the whole process. It did take a little longer than I would of liked it to, but in the long run it all worked out for me.

Laura H. - 11/2/2015 8:15PM

Absolutely wonderful experience, Meridian, was very respectful, helpful and explain everything you need to know, only down side I seen was the time involved as far as how long it took. But in Meridians defense, it was more the termite inspection.They were very courteous, knowledgeable and friendly, if ever a question, call they are Amazing. Was always updated as to any knew changes. Thank you Tony Eckert and Donna Boone. All in all an All an A+ on professionalism.

Thank you Meridian!

Jill E. - 11/2/2015 7:33PM

Took way too long. 5 months to complete and asked for tons of documentation including some things multiple times. Appraisal took too long to schedule and get results.

Henry N. - 11/2/2015 5:41PM

Everyone was very helpful and guided me through the process. All my questions were answered.So far everything is just as they said it would be no problems.
I would do it all over again with Meridian. I would use them again if I need them in the future.

Thank you all at Meridian You changed my life for the better.

Carolyn B. - 11/3/2015 9:50AM

The overall experience was very pleasant. The people were helpful when we had any questions. the only other comment would be that we did not receive a copy of the appraisal, which we would like to have had. We would certainly recommend Meridian to others. Thank you

Sally L. - 10/20/2015 8:17AM

The process took way too long, there were too many people involved and the interest rate should have been lower. Every time I received a phone call for more information, it was someone different, not the original person who started the loan. And I think from beginning to end, it was the longest time I ever had to wait on a refinance. Also, the interest rate wasn't as low as other banks but I was already too invested in time to change lenders. But we finally settled and that process went well.

Luis M. - 10/19/2015 3:52PM

I truly loved working with the Meridian Staff. They all were very professional. they took time to answer all my questions in a timely manner. Working with William Burgamy was a awesome. And if I needed more information or had questions all I needed to do was call or email him... GREAT JOB !!!!

Edwin W. - 10/13/2015 10:10PM

In the beginning of the loan process i was contacted almost daily with updates toward the end i had to call constantly to get any info. Shining star was Donna Boone. Give her a raise and take it away from the rest of them.

Gene and Vicky L. - 10/13/2015 8:24PM

I had a very good experience with Meridian as they refinanced my home loan. I was kept informed very regularly. They told me exactly what was going on, what needed to be done, what I needed to do, and all the while, every person I talked to was extremely courteous and helpful. They were always ready and willing to answer any questions I had.
It all went very smoothly!!

Hank T. - 10/10/2015 12:35PM

I would give Meridian a 5 star review. There were no surprises or problems. I would do it all over again. Thanks Meridian

Craig A. - 10/10/2015 11:46AM

Overall, I was very pleased with the way my re-finance was handled. Meridian is well staffed and organized, and knows their job.

Sabrina G. - 10/10/2015 11:51PM

Awesome company that stood behind everything they said...Very knowledgeable staff that kept me informed on the process of my refinance. This process has been a life saver for me, I am so thankful that I inquired after receiving the letter in the mail. I want to say thank you to everyone that played a role in ensuring that my process was completed in a timely manner. I would truly recommend anyone to them.

Cynthia U. - 10/8/2015 5:13PM

Meridian Home Mortgage did an exceptional job of negotiating the ins and outs of VA loans and getting me a 15 year mortgage that provided me exactly what I was looking for in a refinance package.

Dudley and Tracy-Ann D. - 10/8/2015 11:09AM

The reps were very helpful, but the process took too long. Recommendation is to have one point of contact between client and representatives. I had several representatives who called me at any given time, this was rather confusing.

Laura H. - 10/6/2015 3:56PM

Hello, I really liked all of the people that I worked with in this process of refinance. I know that it can be difficult living in another state, but everyone did a great job of keeping in touch with me throughout the process. Thank you to everyone who helped me in this process.

Daryl C. - 10/6/2015 3:20AM

I had a very pleasant experience,with Meridian Home Mortgage. I like to thank Nick Outten, A.J.Price, Dan Sponaugle, Stephanie DiPietro, and George Belt. They made my VA refinance/cash-out a smooth,and easy transaction. I started the loan process in July,and closed in September. I will highly recommend Meridian to friends and family.

Stacie - 10/6/2015 1:02AM

We didn't actually go through with our refinance because our appraisal came in too low, but we would recommend Meridian to anyone! When our appraisal came in, Ron Miles spent the time to talk about our options and weigh the advantages and disadvantages. In the end, it didn't make sense for us to refinance. The fact that Ron looked at our situation objectively instead of just trying to sell us a loan product speaks VOLUMES about Ron's and Meridian's INTEGRITY.

All in all, there didn't seem to be one contact person during the loan process, but someone from Meridian contacted us every 3 or 4 days to update us on the process. Everyone we talked to was knowledgeable, helpful, and on the same page. VERY IMPRESSIVE!

Lydia - 10/4/2015 8:00PM

It started with a letter I have received from Meridian Home Mortgage offering a low rate of interest to refinance, etc. before I responded my husband and I checked their company on the Internet . We were pleased with what we learned about them and especially the good reviews people who dealt with them gave and recommended them highly.

Honestly, I now join those people who gave good reviews to Meridian, because I give Meridian a top notch rating , excellent and the best of the best after they have handled my VA home mortgage refinance. They told me at front that the loan process may take 60 days. But it took less than 60 days.

Meridian sent me a complete package together with detailed instructions and contact names , phone numbers, e-mail addresses of my personal advisor and The Meridian Team. Also included was a self addressed overnight express envelope for my use to return to them the signed and completed documents, etc. I read the file thoroughly and made copies of all the documents they required, signed all the forms and returned the package to them within the next business day.

Soon as they have received the package back I got a prompt e-mail of acknowledgement. From there, the loan process was easy: I got prompt response for all my e-mails and when I called Meridian I always get a live person on the line . As the loan process progress there are different levels of support staff that handled, help and assisted with the process which I think was very effective, efficient and very organized.

I had my closing at our home last 9/16/15 which was very convenient for my husband and me. My first payment for my new loan will be on 11/01/15. Thanks to Meridian Home Mortgage and we could pay off our VA loan within 15 years at a lower rate of interest. I definitely recommend The Meridian Home Mortgage for all your refinance or new loan needs.

They are the best! Nobody does it better than Meridian! Cheers!

Claudia P. - 10/2/2015 6:41PM

Communication was fantastic. They sent e-mails and followed up immediately with a phone call with the same information. All contacts were very courteous.

Only complaint was time delay in completing re-fi. It took longer to get this done than it did the original finance. And even though I got an update every 2 weeks, 6 or more weeks for the process was too long.

Wilfred and Joyce - 10/2/2015 7:52PM

Meridian Home Mortgage did accomplish the task of refinancing
our 1st and 2nd Mortgage Notes into one payment as they stated.
The time frame utilized to make the refinance happen was much longer
than we anticipated. (Over two months).

Diana Paquet was very helpful and informative. She guided us through the
rough waters to our final goal. She kept in touch with us via phone and
e-mail all the way through. She gets the five stars from us!!!

Overall, Meridian Home Mortgage has an overall rating of Recommended.

Don L. - 10/3/2015 9:19AM

I want to thank everyone at Meridian Home Mortgage for all the work they did for me. You guided me through all the needed paper work to make our loan work for us.
Thanks again!!

Leonard S. - 10/3/2015 11:41AM

I was very pleased with Meridian Mortgage during the entire process. Everyone I worked with was professional, responded to questions in a timely manner, and addressed any issues that arose. The time from beginning to closure was relatively short. I was very glad that I chose Meridian.

Eric H. - 10/2/2015 10:45AM

The process was great. I would say, a little more communication would have made it better. I had to call around three times to find out information. I emailed a few times with no reply. Other then that is was a easy process.

Richard J. - 10/2/2015 11:01AM

Thank you Meridian, for making it simple & fast. To get everything done
at home for me. Thank you all very much.

Brian M. - 10/2/2015 11:06AM

My wife an I had a fantastic experience with Meridian. We where continually updated with the progress of the loan process. The staff was able to answer all of our questions. Meridian staff are quick to respond to our needs. They are tolerant of my inability to use computer technology and for that I am thankful.

Not only did we refinance our home, but we're able to pay off other personal and credit card debt. It is a great feeling to not stress every payday. Y'all have helped us to enjoy the ability of owning a home with low interest and affordable payments! We are grateful for all the help in the processes of refinancing our home. The Meridian Team is fantastic and we would definitely recommend our friends and family to do their business with you!!!

Walter - 10/2/2015 11:25AM

We were very pleased with the professionalism and speed with which Meridian assisted us with our refinance. Everything was handled with care and the process was very timely. Thank you for relieving our fears and helping to place us in a better financial situation.

Tony - 9/24/2015 11:09AM

Meridian Home Mortgage did a fantastic job getting our refinance and debt consolidation wrapped up in a timely manner. They were easy to work with and helped us make the financial management side of our lives much better.

Brian B. - 9/3/2015 11:54AM

I was very satisfied with the speed that the loan process took. Very professional. Very easy.

William L. - 9/3/2015 8:36AM

I was totally impressed from start to final closing. I was able to pay off credit cards which cleared off a lot of debit. Thanks.

Richard S. - 8/24/2015 9:34PM

I was honestly not very satisfied with the process, it took much longer than I was told, people often failed to inform me of issues that arose, I had to initiate contact to find out what was going on, and the number of different people we had to deal with made it difficult to maintain any continuity. The process was disjunct, long, and inefficient, we ended up explaining the same issues to multiple people and communication was less than good.

Chris B. - 8/14/2015 1:36PM

I was always impressed when I called and got a live person. The men I communicated with - Dave, AJ, Ron and Drew , were very professional and kept me informed through the entire process. I tried not to be a bother, but they welcomed my phone calls and I sincerely appreciate their kindness and hard work.

Mark B. - 8/18/2015 8:31AM

Very satisfied with the level of service I received on my refinance. The staff was very professional and attentive to any questions I had.

Jacob - 8/12/2015 1:22PM

Easy, fast, responsive, professional, informative. Just a few works to describe the refi process with Meridian.

The McLeroys - 8/10/2015 3:45PM

We had a great experience with Meridian. After reading many reviews and researching other companies we decided to go with Meridian. We were expecting it to be a long process (based on reviews) but in fact, it was not. It took less then 2 months from start to finish. Meridian's staff kept us informed every step of the way! We will definitely recommend Meridian to our friends and family! Thank you!

Joseph F. Sr. - 8/5/2015 10:32AM

I still have a loss for words for the fight that Meridian put up to push this thru. Starting with Dave Committe to A J Price to Ron Miles and especially Drew. Keeping everything in perspective and at ease helped tremendously. it being the first time doing a long distance transaction as this was a little stressful. Phone calls, e mails, paper work to the closing set up our house was spot on. Being a pain at times I commend you for putting up with my aggressiveness.

My family and I could not be more appreciative. A tremendous help for us financially for Meridian's hard work in getting this approved. The Fresnedo Family Thanks You Very Much.

Margaret H. - 8/5/2015 11:05AM

The whole process was very frustrating. We sent some documents multiple times via email and then we had to fax the documents. We would receive an email that a document was received and then shortly thereafter we would receive another email asking for the same document.
The most disturbing item was that it appears that the employees of Meridian appeared not to care that the slowness of the process made your current mortgage payment late.

James F. - 8/5/2015 9:23AM

Meridian did a great job for my wife and I. I would recommend any veteran to use their services.

Robert C. - 7/23/2015 11:33AM

Glad my re-finance finally closed !! Overall, I was satisfied with the way Meridian handled this refinance. I was kept inform of what was happening during the process. However, there was a couple times I sent e-mails to a few folks on the pipeline team and they never responded back to me. Oh well, maybe they were busy, I don't know, but in any event, my file has finally closed and everything turned out wonderful, that is all that matters !! Bravo for Meridian !!!

Chris E. - 7/30/2015 1:02 PM

Knowledgeable and fair process. The documents were delivered promptly. Appraisers and closer on time and friendly. Slight delay in processing but they keep you well informed throughout the process. The payoff amounts were off slightly but the creditors refunded the overage promptly. I highly recommend Meridian. Don Sponagule, Matt Brown, Tony Tucci and Ron Miles were all first class.

Thomas and Deborah Y. - 7/29/2015 10:43 AM

Overall, we were very pleased and satisfied with our recent refinance with Meridian Mortgage.
Everyone we spoke with was professional and very polite and also,genuinely tried to be helpful.

The whole process seemed long lasting and at times repetitive but the outcome was great and we definitely give a "thumbs up" to the whole team.

Thanks Again to the Whole Team!!!

Tom and Debby Yow

Doug W. - 7/28/2015 5:49 PM

Meridian has taken to heart the older comments posted stating issues with communication and speed.
Closed our refi in under 30 days and the entire team made sure we knew where we were in the process.

For reference, we also responded same day to all inquiries and request for information to insure there were no delays because of us.

Overall, a good experience.

Connie A. - 7/16/2015 1:57AM

When I received the letter from Meridian to refinance my home, I immediately called after looking into the company. I called my realtor and she said they were a great company. 24-Hours after my first inquiry I received a call telling me I was qualified/approved for the new loan. I was thrilled! I finally was going to be above water with my over whelming debt!

The Meridian staff members have been wonderful from start to end! Walking me through each step with calls from each person who had a part in my re-fi process! David Committe, Jr; Beth Yeager; Dan Sponaugle; Ron Moss; George Belt and Drew McHale have all been wonderful the entire time! All professional and up-standing employees. I thank each and every one of you for assisting me with my loan.

You have truly made my life more comfortable. My apologies if I have left anyone out of this heartfelt Thanks! I will recommend Meridian and each and every one of you to family and friends who may be buying a home or wishing to Re-Finance!!

Also I'd like to thank your clerical staff for directing my calls and getting my messages to you all. She is an excellent representative of your Maryland office. I was ecstatic when my loan closed in under 30 days from start to finish!! Impressive to say the very least!!


Edward G. - 7/1/2015 10:41AM

The requests from Meridian for information and documentation was overwhelming. The number of phone calls and e-mail seemed to never end during the 3 or 4 months it took to process this loan. At one time I had to provide almost 200 photocopies of various documents which required dozens of authenticating signatures.

During the processing, national mortgage rates decreased to almost annual lows and part of the new loan ($32K) was to be used to eliminate our credit debt, yet the initially quoted loan rate remained constant at 3.99% when comparable advertised rates were more than a point and a half lower.

When Meridian cut the checks for the five credit card debts one check was for too much and one check was for too little. Both caused us problems and time delays in eliminating the debts.

Had we not devoted so much time and been legally committed to Meridia n I would have terminated the process and sought another mortgage broker. I would not recommend the company to others seeking refinancing.

Diane S. - 6/29/2015 7:58PM

Everyone I worked with at Meridian Home Mortgage was great. I closed and it worked exactly the way they said it would. Thank you very much.

Alois B. - 6/26/2015 8:03PM

Thanks so much for your effective and efficient processing of our VA Refinance. Your team was knowledgeable and helpful. (Special thanks to Tony Tucci, Drew McHale, George Belt, Sara Bush, Kathy Kelton, Bob Morgan and Bet Yaeger). We got the rate that you promised and it was a full percentage point lower than the one New Day offered us. It's great to deal with a company that does everything that it says it will do and honors Veterans in the process.

Thanks Again
Al and Kate B.
Venice Florida

Sara - 6/29/2015 9:07AM

Wonderful company! They were very quick to respond!

Antonio M - 6/29/2015 1:39PM

I'm really satisfied with the service rendered by the whole Meridian team from Mr.Tony Eckert to the rest of the team. Thank you all! Thumbs up.

Dan A. - 6/17/2015 10:50 AM

My Experience with Meridian was painless. Any questions or concerns were addressed immediately. I would recommend Meridian and their team to anyone.

Dan L. - 5/31/2015 6:21 PM

My experience with Meridian was great. All the people that came together to assist in my re-fi of my home was terrific. From all the folks who worked on my loan; Dan Committe, Dave Rafter, Dan Sponaugle, and Tami Wingrove to the people who did the closing (Catherine & John Leary) they were all professional, courteous, very knowledgeable, and kept me up to speed on the loan status the entire way. Very positive experience from a great team of professionals.

Rebecca M. - 5/24/2015 4:34 PM

George Belt and the rest of the team worked really hard to put this deal together for me. It took quite some time (5 months), but it is a great rate and will help me so much financially. Unfortunately, a member of the team was also lost during the process and I feel for his family.

Would recommend them to anyone looking to refinance and consolidate their debts.

Michael B. - 5/23/2015 6:26 PM

First I will say that I utilized Meridian after receiving mailer and reviewing their webpage. Thought I was making a good decision. Was very wrong. This had to be the most frustrating experience I have every had. For a refinance to take over 4.5 months to complete is not what I would consider a professional experience. I had the equity, the income, and the credit score to make this a lot simpler than they made it. There was the constant asking for documents they already had, i.e. an employment verification from my wife's employer, even though they had acknowledged receiving the document previously. The silliest act of this was for 2 individuals, who I later was told worked across from each other, asking for this same document. I realize there are a lot of documents necessary to complete this process, and I was expecting this to take a while, but 4.5 months!!. Many times I called asking what the status was, the answer was deflected to someone other individual, indicating it was delays causing this loan to still be in the in the process. I asked to be kept updated on the process and was told that was not a problem. I could go on and on about how frustrating this process was. But, I think anyone reading this would get the picture. Lastly, I maintained copies of all information I was asked to provide and all comments received from Meridian staff, including written correspondence and emails.

Would I recommend Meridian. Absolutely not.

Marianne B. - 5/23/2015 11:56 AM

Great mortgage company! I was a little concerned when I kept getting handed off to someone new after each step but they never dropped the ball. Additionally, this is the first mortgage company I've used that didn't overlook some crucial step and cause me to scramble at the last minute to have everything ready for closing.

HAC - 5/21/2015 7:49 PM

In the end the Closing with Meridian went well, but getting to that point was a bit painful. Communication was a bit slow but I realize that the time zone thing may have been the biggest reason. I didn't know what I had to bring to closing until the day of! All in all the folks that worked with me were great. My interest rate could have been a bit lower but I am sure that banks are covering every base these days.

Ellen G. - 5/21/2015 12:17 PM

My husband and I were totally pleased with Meridian Home Mortgage! We were looking to refinance our mortgage and consolidate our credit cards. Their letter came in the mail at a perfect time for us. I gave them a call and started the process. All of the people at Meridian were very professional, helpful and friendly. The process was easy and they were very thorough. After all of our documents were received, we received phone calls and emails to inform us of the time line until we closed. A person came to our home for the closing and it went very smoothly. We feel so much better now with our finances in order and we are saving money with a very low interest rate. Thank you to the team at Meridian for all you have done for us!! We would highly recommend Meridian for anyone who is looking for a team of highly qualified professionals to help with a mortgage or a refinance.

Vickie S. - 5/21/2015 1:22 PM

The refinancing for my house went very smoothly. Every team member I spoke with was polite and helpful. I am now buying a new house and using Meridian again for the purchase.

Jacqueline B. - 5/20/2015 5:06 PM

The ENTIRE team at Meridian is top notch! Professionalism is number 1 with them. They are definitely the place to go when needing mortgage help! Thanks to all of you!

Judith R. - 5/20/2015 9:06 PM

The refinance started out very well. Each phone call I received was from a different person. I thought the communication was very poor. I was not kept abreast of the progress. Even after everything was completed and the loan was locked no one called me. I called the office and asked when exactly is settlement. All was well with my world then.

Travis K. - 5/20/2015 9:33 PM

You guys made the entire process so stress free. Loved the constant communication from your first class company!

Thank you!

Marisol N. - 5/20/2015 11:06 PM

We were in the process of refinancing with another company after our first refi with Meridian. Meridian contacted us when they received a request from another company asking for our pay out... there was some back and forth with each company and we decided to stay with Meridian.

The process with Meridian took a lot longer then what we were told. We also did not have access to a fax from home and instead of giving us a list of everything that was required we were constantly going into town to fax paper work needed. This was very frustrating.

We were also not kept up to date with what was happening. When I called I always received answers to my questions but i felt that if I didn't call I would not receive phone calls from meridian.

This was the second time going through a refinance with Meridian, we thought it would be easier since they had all our information. Th ere was a lot of unneeded frustration and when everything was done I informed them I would not use them in the future.

Linda M. - 5/21/2015 5:34 AM

The process of refinancing my mortgage with Meridian was fast and easy. The staff with whom I worked were professional, knowledgeable and courteous. I was always given clear, easy to understand instructions that left no room for confusion.
I will definitely seek out Meridian if I need another mortgage product.

Frederick W. - 5/21/2015 7:18 AM

We started the process in February and close in May. I realize there was problems with the title but that was long time. When we closed the the documents we not correct and had to be done again. This was caught by the notary. Our money was received quickly. The checks for debt being paid were sent to us to mail..Never heard of that!!
The people we dealt with were nice and helpful.

EH G. - 5/21/2015 7:21 AM

Our intent in undertaking this refinancing was threefold: reduce our existing loan interest rate by more than one point; pay off unneeded credit cards and to have funds for a small addition to the house without using our savings. I was disappointment in two of three of our goals with Meridian and the VA. I guess our primary disappointment was the interest rate which I felt it was at least a full point too high.

The appraisal ordered by Meridian was conducted by a young woman who appeared to be dressed for a party - skin-tight dress, 4-inch heels. I believe her comparables were poorly chosen and her appraisal was about $20K too low.

The required documentation exceeded 170 pages and dozens of signatures which I think is excessive. The entire process with Meridian spanned about 90 days

We elected to have five credit cards paid off but Meridian chose to pay only four of these. Of the four payoffs one check was for too much and two were for too little. I wondered why I was paying for the credit reports if I was getting different information. Had my phone messages and e-mails to Meridian been promptly answered perhaps this could have been corrected.

All in all I was totally disappointed and would never do it again, at least not with a mortgage brokerage house. I have been seriously considering filing a formal complaint with the Veterans Administration and/or with my Congressman.

Robert K. - 5/21/2015 10:13 AM

We were very satisfied with our refinance. The process went very smooth and fast. The people we worked with were great! Tami Wingrove was excellent at always getting right back to us with questions or concerns. All of the contacts were easy to work with. We've dealt with other companies and had very poor service! Thank you!

David N. - 5/20/2015 1:02 PM

The mortgage process went fairly smoothly and quickly. The people at Meridian were very helpful when I had questions or concerns. The only problem was when they sent out the checks to me to pay off the other debts included in the loan, they sent the package to the wrong address, which caused delays and concerns of where the checks went. They promptly canceled the original checks and sent out a replacement package when I notified them that I hadn't received them when I was supposed to, so the process was delayed only 5 days

Mary P. - 5/20/2015 1:52 PM

The refi procedure started off very well but there were times when I was unaware of how things were progressing , however when I called to find out I was brought up to date. When it was closing time I felt that everything was rushed but the individual who came todo the closing was very professional. The entire process was longer than I was informed but I would not hesitate to work with the folks at Meridian again.

Jenny C. - 5/20/2015 2:44 PM

I enjoyed my experiences with the company. They are very responsive and kept me informed the entire process. Interest rate was great and I now have solid control on my finance!

Jason G. - 9/2/2015 8:42PM

Unfortunately, I have to echo the sentiments of Margaret H. and Richard S.. While the process started off wonderfully and there were a couple of bright stars along the way (Dan Sponagle in the middle and Chris at the end), the overall rating for efficiency, process and communication would barely rate as an 'D' and that is only because the refinance was successful. But, truthfully, almost (160) days to complete a simple, no cash out VA 30-year to VA 15-year refinance on a fastidiously attentive client with all prepared documentation at the ready at every turn with over 790 credit scores is absolutely atrocious. Among some of the most unbelievable occurrences, my personal checking line of credit was mistakenly frozen by the title company they used (and then initially argued that that was impossible) and after erroneously telling me that my rate was locked, I found out during a Nashville trip with my family that it wasn't and, as such, that I had no choice but to take the slightly higher rate (but since it was their mistake they would absorb only $1,500 of the $2,500 difference)! Literally, a full 20-25% of my efforts and contact follow-up was simply to get my documentation to the appropriate people and effect continuing progress. I can tell you as an Active Duty Army Veteran that everything flows from the top down and their leaders are discombobulated, inattentive standardless and inconsistent figures who won't even take the time to excavate into these multiple scathing reviews. And that is truly sad for people like Dan Sponagle and Chris and others who are trying to do great things in the haphazard mess that is MHM.

Harry S. - 5/11/2015 1:31 PM

My experience was excellent from first contact to the closing. My contact kept me informed at every step and even anticipated the next steps, making me feel very comfortable with our long distance relationship.

At closing, a professional closing agent came to our home, walked us through all the paperwork, answering questions from my wife and me when we were not absolutely clear what we were signing. Very thorough and patient!

I would (and have) recommend Meridian to any veteran considering a refi or new loan.

Harry Snook & Patricia Weiner

Christine F. - 4/15/2015 10:11 AM

The team that worked with me was great.. They answered all of my questions in a timely fashion. The settlement was also done in a timely fashion.

I would recommend them to anyone who would ask.

Katie A. - 4/13/2015 12:47 PM

What an amazing team! I have not found a company that will even touch a mfh refi with cash out let alone the GREAT customer service! Everyone was helpful, took time to explain the process and even the contractors they used to take care of the pieces were awesome. The notary that came to our house so we could sign the documents was perfect! Professional, knowledgeable, every detail was explained and done well. Thank you all and again my condolences for your loss!

Copyright © 2015 a division of Meridian Home Mortgage Corp. NMLS #56301. All rights reserved.

NMLS #56301. NMLS Consumer Access. Cashnowrefi ILO Meridian Home Mortgage Corporation is a Registered Mortgage Broker - NYS Department of Financial Services. All mortgage loans arranged with third party provider #A007352 .
Toll-Free 877 878 0100
Copyright © 2015 Meridian Home Mortgage Corp. NMLS #56301. All rights reserved.